Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

30

I turned 30 yesterday.

I wish I had something profound to say about turning 30, but I have to admit that the day went by without much of an emotional reaction.  Turning 30 was actually much easier than turning 29.

I still have my hair, although that one grey guy (Henry) is still hanging on for dear life.  My face only shows the barest shadow of wrinkles (let’s call them laugh lines).  My bones do creak, my shoulder will pop out of place if you look at it wrong and my knees click when I walk, but that is from playing football, not growing old.

The only time I start to feel my age is when I look at my kids.  They are still quite young, so I must still be quite young.  But I can’t deny that I am a card-carrying adult.  I have Responsibilities like a mortgage, college savings accounts, a job and the life of two little people in my hands.

Turning 30 didn’t make that happen, but it is opening my eyes both to the consequences of failing in my Responsibilities and the possibilities that lie ahead for my children.

September 25, 2006 - Posted by | Random Thoughts, The Kids

1 Comment »

  1. effects of katrina on mississippi

    Comment by Larcik-ji | January 21, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

