Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

“Cogito Patris” Explained…

I wanted a name for this blog that would convey (in three words or less) what I wanted to accomplish with this blog.

I am a father of two.  Dante (Boy) is 2 (OK, 27 months if you want to be technical) and Melody (Girl) is 1 month old today.  But this is not a daddy blog (though I am sure I will post pictures and stories about the kids).

Ultimately this will be a random thoughts page.  Anything and everything that crosses my mind will be posted on this page.

  • I tend to get (overly) passionate about energy issues and (underly) passionate about political issues. Ultimately however, most of my concerns about the future of this planet revolve around my concern for my kid kids (I am still getting used to the plural form of that last word.)
  • I am a devout science fiction fan…especially Battlestar Galactica, Stargate SG-1 and Stargate Atlantis. I will probably discuss sci-fi in general and these shows specifically.
  • I enjoy watching movies with my wife and I will probably mention my thoughts on a movie if it strikes me.
  • I am also trying to write a little non-fiction. I will probably post some short stories on this site as well.
  • Football is the greatest game ever played, so I will no doubt speak about football (specifically the Washington Redskins and the James Madison University Dukes).
  • I have some strong feelings about religion; you can expect to read about those thought here as well.

And these are just the thing I could think of right now.  I am sure some others will come up as well.

All of that being said, I settled on “Cogito Patris“.  My Latin is horrendously bad rusty, but the translation should be something approaching “The Thinking Father“.  I figured that would be as close of a name as possible.

Now, the question becomes, “If your Latin is rusty, why use Latin?”  Well, “because I felt like it”; which may be a better tag line for this blog than any other.

September 25, 2006 - Posted by | Random Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

