Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

How to fix the Washington Redskins

I know there are going to be a lot of words written about what the Washington Redskins should do this off-season to reach their “Former Glory”.  Being an avid ‘Skins fan I have my own theories and I am going to share them with whomever will listen.  So, here, in a nutshell, is what I think they should do:

1)  Keep the players they have, with two exceptions.

This is important.  This season has built some team chemistry.  If the players stick together through the difficult times then they will do all the better next season.  I say that there are three exceptions and I will tell you who I would release if it were my choice:

  1. Todd Collins (35 year old 3rd string QB)
  2. A Corner Back

I am not sure which cornerback to release.

2) Keep the coaching staff.

Pretty much every coach should be kept.  the possible exception is to have Todd Collins be the QB Coach, rather than a player.

3) Draft the new players.

I think the Redskins need a new, good CB…preferably someone with great speed.  When Darrell Green was a member of the Washington Redskins defence you rarely saw long yardage touchdowns.  You knew he would catch them.  I like Shawn Springs, but he is getting older and the defence could use another top notch CB.

In addition to a CB, I think the Redskins only a cheap and young third string QB.  Being a JMU Alumni and fan, I think that Justin Rascatiwould be a good fit.  He is a 1-AA (Division 1 subdivision) QB, so he is not well known (and therefore probably pretty cheap).  He has a nice strong arm and he is athletically elusive.  This matches him well with Jason Campbell.  They have pretty similar playing styles.  Oh yeah, and he has won a national championship (in 2004), so he has been in some big games in his time at JMU.  He will never be a starter on any NFL team, but I think he will be a good backup.

4) Hold a Kicker Competition Camp.

I like Shaun Suisham.  I think he is a decent kicker with a decent leg.  But I would like to see an open competition at the place kicker position.  When Gibbs was the Redskins coach in the 80s he had Chip Lohmiller.  Chip was close to automatic from any distance less than 50 yards.  From more than 50 yards he was still pretty good.  The Redskins need that again.

That’s it. I truly believe that the Redskins are close to another Superbowl (granted I fall for that every year).  I think just a few tweaks will give them a great shot.  A mass shopping spree will doom them to another disappointing year.

December 18, 2006 - Posted by | Football, JMU, Redskins, Sports

2 Comments »

  1. I hope this will make my Superbowl stocks go up so I make some money on it 🙂 http://www.trendio.fr/word.php?language=en&wordid=2207

    Comment by Snexlex | January 24, 2007 | Reply

  2. Please fix them! I would love to be a proud fan instead of just a tolerant one.

    Comment by Karen | February 14, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

