Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

“Life is Like a Box of Chocolates…”

I had a weird thought on the way home yesterday and I wanted to share it.  I was thinking about bicycles and I may have come across the meaning of life, or at least an unwritten rule to  happier life. 

I like the idea of summing up a complex system with a simple saying.  After all, life is like a box of chocolates, or at least aspects of life are. 

 Life is like riding a bicycle.

I doubt that I am the first to say so.  But here is why.  If you ride a bicycle too fast, inevitably you are going to crash (did you know trees can move in front of moving bicycles?  It’s true, just ask my brother).  If you ride a bicycle too slowly it is difficult to maintain your balance.  There is a balance to the speed of bicycle riding just as there is a speed to life.  You can’t bee too cautious or you won’t get anywhere, but too fast a pace and you are bound to crash.

I may be thinking about this right now because I have set myself a fast pace in life.  With two kids and too much work to do I am finding it difficult to maintain my balance.

I look forward to next month when my job will slow down and allow me to return to a more stable pace.  Until then, I will just have too look out for those moving trees.

I realize I don’t get a lot of traffic, but for those brave few, I would love to hear your own ending to this statement: “Life is like…”

April 3, 2007 - Posted by | Random Thoughts

1 Comment »

  1. I have lived my life at both ends of this range from too slow to too fast and I completely agree with your analogy here.

    Comment by Karen | April 12, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

