Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

I Think The Borg have it right

For those of you who either don’t know or don’t remember, the Borg were a cybernetic species introduced in Star Trek: The Next Generation and brought out again every time ratings slipped on the subsequent Star Trek series.  They were supposed to be the embodiment of evil, but I didn’t see that.  I thought they were the embodiment of fanaticism.  If you were not a member of their “Clique” then you were forcefully converted.  If you read my post “A Rant About Religion” you will see how I feel about fanaticism.

But I am not currently interested in the fanaticism, or the use of cybernetics for enhancement (which I think may be a natural evolution of the human species in centuries to come).  What I am talking about are their ships.  They had two “classes” of star ships.  They had the spheres and the cubes.  Simple geometric shapes that were intended to show that the Borg had no real imagination.

I’m not sure that is true.  Why make a space ship anything other than a simple geometric shape?  A cube is a highly efficient use of space (why do you think houses are generally cubic).  The sphere is one of the strongest structures.  The only reason to make a star ship a different shape is for artistic reason and to eliminate usable space.

So, I think when the human race does eventually travel to the stars, the ships will not look like the Enterprise, but instead will resemble a Borg cube (although I would allow for a 3D rectangle as well)

April 17, 2007 - Posted by | Wild Theory

2 Comments »

  1. What? No pyramid shapes? Was that overdone by the Egyptians already?

    The Borg episodes were my favorite Next Generation episodes. I can still hear my dad saying “I am Locutus of Borg…” in that deep voice and then laughing. Aaaahhh, memories.

    Comment by Karen | April 18, 2007 | Reply

  2. You know, I considered pyramid shapes as well. I thought it was cool that the Go’ald use pyramid ships in Stargate SG-1, until the gods started to branch out of the Egyptian mythology yet still used the pyramids.

    The reason I dismissed pyramids as a logical shape for a space ship is that I could only think of one reason for having a pyramid shape. It would be helpful for ramming other ships (like an arrow). I hope that by the time we get to interstellar travel we no longer need to consider weapons a necessary addition for our ship designs. If we do need weapons then we would want flat ships that would provide a minimum aspect ratio (think about the Defiant on DS-9).

    Comment by m2morgan64 | April 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

