Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

My Son is a Dog

We had an interesting experience a few weeks back.  My son has been enjoying the outdoors a lot over the past few months.  Winters in Charlotte are not bad and he has enjoyed collecting leaves and throwing them off the deck.  Well, it was raining last week and my wife didn’t want to go outside (I was at work).  So my wife told him “No” and waited for the anticipated two-year-old tantrum to die down, then put him in front of his favorite Elmo DVD.  My wife had some work to do herself, so she went back to her computer. 

After a few minutes of silence my wife decided to go see what was going on.  She figured he was still in front of the TV.  But he wasn’t.  He was just happy as can be, soaked to the bone throwing wet leaves off the deck.  He had gone out the dog door (we have large dogs and therefore a large dog door). 

I love my son for so many reasons, not the leave of which is the humor factor.  I was at work when my wife e-mailed me about this incident.  I wasn’t having a particularly good or bad day.  But when I read this I laughed out load at the image in my head.  The rest of the day seemed a little happier for some reason.

April 23, 2007 - Posted by | The Kids

1 Comment »

  1. Ha ha ha! This is adorable! I wonder how long it took him to figure out he could get outside that way. Oh and I got the pictures you guys sent, the kids are so cute!

    Comment by Karen | May 3, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

