Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

Population: Infinity

You may have noticed that in my “Wild Theories” category I like to take the opposite approach than the conventional wisdom.  After all, I encourage the terraforming and populating of Venus, not Mars.  And I consider Autism an evolutionary step in the right direction instead of a learning disability.  This primarily comes from my family dinner table.  My father and I would debate over our meat and potatoes everything from quantum physics to football.  We were both contrarians, so no matter how difficult it would be to justify a position, I would take it as long as it was the exact opposite of my father’s position (he would do the same).  This may sound like typical teenager stuff, but I don’t know how many teenagers will argue with their fathers about Schrodinger’s Cat and Pavlov’s dog rather than Friday Night Curfew.

Wow, that was off subject. Now on to my latest wild theory.

Conventional Wisdom is that the human population of Planet Earth is growing at a rate that is not sustainable.  My favorite Author, Isaac Asimov, wrote many texts, both fiction and non-fiction, on the subject and every one of them took a negative view on the subject.  And to be fair, we are already encountering a lack of food and resources for all of those hungry mouths.  But necessity is the mother of invention. 

I don’t consider it to be that big of a problem.  Granted that may be because I have plenty to eat.  My thinking is as follows:

Premise: The human race is generally “good”

Premise: The rate of “Genius” is constant

Conclusion: The more people there are, the more benevolent geniouses there are in the world. 

You can argue with both of my premises.  But I will ask that you accept them for now.  The problems we currently face are numerous.  Everything from Global Warming to Global Dimming to food shortages to cancer and yes, overpopulation.  Who is going to solve these problems?  For the most part, solutions to global problems require two things:

1) Smart People

2) Lots of Data

So, the more “Normal” people we have, the more data collectors we have.  The more Geniuses we have, the more problem solvers we have.  I don’t pretend to know what the solutions will be (my IQ falls just short of “Genius”), but I think the more geniuses there are out there the more likely we are to find the solution.

That all holds true if my premises are right, but if either premise is wrong then we are probably screwed either way.

April 27, 2007 - Posted by | Random Thoughts, Wild Theory

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

