Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

What do you want to do when you grow up?

I have gambling tendencies.  I love going to Vegas and I enjoy playing Power Ball in the North Carolina lottery (when it gets obscenely high).

I know that these activities are essentially just throwing money away.  At least with the Lottery I know the money is going toward the education system.  I consider the money lost in Vegas “entertainment costs”.

One of the things that I like, especially about the Lottery, is the associated dreaming.  What would I do if I won?  Would I continue to work at my current job?  Even though I like my job, the answer is no.  I like it, I don’t love it.

When I dream about the lottery I usually dream of winning the $300 Million plus top prize.  With that amount of money you can do pretty much anything you want, except for making a global change that are better left to governments with Billions, like a desert reclamation project in the middle east.

The problem with this is that I have a lot of interests.

1) I want to retrofit a 1984 Honda Prelude with a hybrid or electric engine.

2) I would love to work for NASA designing and testing probes.

3) I think the future of the U.S. economy is in Robotics.  I would like to design and build a multipurpose robot that would do all of the cleaning and/or cooking in a home or office.

4) I would like to design a new car from the ground up.

5) I would like to build a robot car (or team) that would be competitive in NASCAR.

6) I want to see my kids more often.

7) I want to travel to Italy to visit my ancestors and tour the country (this is actually on my list).

8) I want to determine a method for replicating synthetic blood.

9) Along the same lines, I would like to figure out a way of replicating synthetic but biological organs.

10) I want to make a cable company that utilizes the internet to distribute recorded programs. (I have a lot of ideas about this one)

Do I know how to do any of this?

No.  Not at all.

But I think every one of them is possible.  I guess I just need to wait for my numbers to come in.

June 22, 2007 - Posted by | Random Thoughts, The Kids

1 Comment »

  1. First off, my old boss “hacked” his Toyota Prius so that it would run completely electric. I assume this voids his warranty but I was impressed. Second, this guy from my elementary school found me on MySpace.com where I discovered he bought a Trans Am and is building a Kitt car replica. Dunno why but I thought these facts might interest you. Also, I never play the lottery because luck is not something that really shines on me all that often. I’m perfectly okay with that fact because I’m a “make things happen” kind of girl” but sometimes I think a lottery win would be so awesome.

    Comment by Karen | June 25, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

