Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

I Finally Figured it out

When I was growing up my Mother had this enormous pocket book.  OK, enormous may be overstating things a bit, but it was big.  At least it was big enough, with enough compartment, that things would kind of get lost.  Then, twice a year when she changed to a new pocket book we would find everything we had lost over the past six months.  Apparently we had given the lost item to mom to hold so it wouldn’t get lost while we were out…and she put it in her pocket book.

At some point I realized that the size of my mother’s pocket book was unnecessary.  My future bride, when we first met, didn’t even have a purse.  Her keys were hooked to a wallet and that is where she kept everything.  At some point she did get a small purse.  I think it is when she got a cell phone and started wearing sunglasses on a regular basis.

Now I understand.  My beautiful wife still has that tiny purse, but she also has not one, not two, but three diaper bags (one for each kid and one that she has everything in).

So, here is my theory.  Once we officially eliminate the diaper bags (presumably when the kids are no longer in diapers) my wife will upgrade to a big ol’ pocket book.  That will allow here to keep the remain support articles close at hand for the kids.

So, women don’t necessarily need large pockets books, but mothers probably do…and my mother agrees with me.

June 26, 2007 - Posted by | Random Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

