Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

Something Light

OK, after my last post I feel like I had to post something that was a little lighter.  So, I wanted to share a couple of things my son has done recently that have made me laugh.

1) The Potato Incident

I have four dogs.  Two of these pups are food mongers and therefore have been extremely happy (read that as “Fat”) due to the generous nature of my kids (read that as “they drop a lot of food and like to share”).  As a result of this newfound food source we have had to cut back on the dog’s food. Obviously we try to keep the kids from feeding the dogs much, but you choose your battles.  In order to maintain the diet we have used a measuring cup to feed the dogs.  The little dogs get 3/4 of a cup and the big dogs get 1.5 cups twice a day.

The other day I was making dinner.  This sounds impressive, but I was making microwave pot roast (which is actually pretty good) and instant mashed potatoes.  When making the mashed potatoes I have taken to measuring out the flakes I will need and leaving it on the counter until the water boils.  On this particular evening, I got distracted and left the room for a little while.  When I came back, the mashed potato flakes were in the dog’s bowl.  It turns out that the measuring cups I used were from the same set we took the dog’s food measuring cup.  My son saw the cups and apparently assumed they were for the dogs and “shared” the flakes.

To the dog’s credit, they didn’t eat all the flakes (in fact they looked quite confused over the whole thing).

2) The Video shelves

One of my son’s favorite stimming activities (it’s an autism thing) is to throw leaves off the deck.  He could do this for over an hour on a good day.

He has gotten better about some of these activities, but the other day I caught him taking the DVDs off the shelf and throwing them off the back of the couch.  Realizing that putting them back on the shelf would simply make a game out of it I decided to leave them there.  I figured once the bottom shelf was empty he would tire of the game and move on.  Well, he did, that is until two night ago when he started to climb the lower shelves to get to the higher ones.  Obviously I told him “no.”  But it didn’t take and a few minutes later he was back at it.  I was worried about his safety and I wasn’t sure I was communicating well with him (he still doesn’t speak), so I decided to remove the temptation.  That’s right, I threw all the DVDs behind the coach myself (I didn’t know we had so many…over 250). So now we have a huge pile of DVDs piled up between the couch and the wall.

I though that would be it, but I was wrong again.  You see, I keep my video games on a different shelf of a different cabinet.  He saw them and they had to go behind the couch as well.  So today he climbed up on to a writing desk we got for him and took down the games.  Took them to the couch and over they went.

I’m hoping that ends this game, but we will see.

3) The Dog Door

I wrote earlier about how my son had finally learned what the dog door was good for.  Well, I don’t know why I find it so amusing, but he now goes in and out of that thing almost as much as the dogs do.  Every time I have to giggle. 

I love that kid.

September 5, 2007 - Posted by | The Kids

1 Comment »

  1. You guys are so blessed to have two such wonderful and amusing children. I can only hope for the same down the road for myself. 🙂

    Comment by Karen | September 5, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

