Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

I didn’t want to do it…the Belichick fiasco.

OK, I don’t want to contribute to this story, but I have heard so many people ask why video taping was so bad when trying to steal another team’s signals was acceptable.  This included one of the guests on Monday Night Football from the Redskins game last week.

The reason video taping is a problem is that it allows the coaches time to study the defensive signals and every aspect of the following play. They can spend weeks figuring everything out so that it will be in place the next time they play.  This is different than having a third string QB try to pick it up in real time.  Most coaches don’t change signals that often.  No reason to have their players learn a new set of instructions every week.  So the signals used in week 1 are pretty much the same as the signals used in week 12.  A defensive coordinator who changes teams may re-use the signals…at least some of them.

That is all I am going to say about that.  Whether the punishment levied against the Patriots was too much or too little isn’t for me to say.  I just wanted to clarify why the use of video recording equipment is such a problem.

September 20, 2007 - Posted by | Football, Sports

1 Comment »

  1. Unrelated to stupid Belichick but related to the comment you left me, no jewelry huh? I guess maybe I knew that and didn’t remember or I was unaware but I guess I picked the wrong birthday gift to send your lovely wife. 😦

    Comment by Karen | September 21, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

