Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

How I Met Your Mother Part 1 – The Meeting

I have mentioned before that one of the reasons that I wanted to start this blog was so that my kids would have a glimpse in to me that I never had with my father. 

I was thinking about this while watching TV (any guesses as to which show?) and I realized that the story of Angel and Me is one that my kids may be interested in.

My parents met on a blind date set up by mutual friends.  Kinda boring if you ask me.  The story of Angel and Me (heretofore “Us”) is a little more complicated.  Unfortunately this will be primarily my side of the story.  I may get some details wrong because  it has been quite a while since most of this occurred.  But here it is.

Angel and I met in December of 1994 in the basement of Eagle hall at JMU.  Now keep in mind how incredibly shy I was (and to a lesser degree still am).  I had never even been on a date.  I only had the guts to ask out one girl in high school and she turned me down (she had a good reason…she was dating somebody else).  I found out after college that my high school classmates of the female persuasion thought I was gay because of my shyness.  For the record, I am not and was not gay. 

So, it was either the week before finals or the week of finals my first semester of my Freshman year in college.  I had literally run out of clean clothes and I needed to do laundry.  The laundry facilities in Eagle hall were in the basement.  But this is what is strange about this whole thing.

I am one of those people that never really had to study.  It used to drive my future wife crazy how little I studied yet how well I did.  The reason I bring this up is because on this occasion I actually brought books a notes with me to the laundry to study for an exam (that is how I know the date so approximately).  Not only did I grab a book, but I decided to study for ISAT 111 – Biotechnology Applications.  I now think back on how fortuitous it was that I chose that particular subject.  The other ISAT classes I was taking were so easy for me I didn’t even bother to study.  I could have studied for English or philosophy (Logic), but instead I grabbed the lone ISAT book I needed to study for.

When I first went in to the laundry I noticed Angel sitting on one of the washing machines that was not in use.  I noticed her because she is a beautiful woman.  What was unusual to me at the time, she noticed me.  OK, so I was the only other person in the room though the TV area next door was full.  But trust me when I say that it was still unusual for anyone to notice me. And to stretch things even farther in my mind, she spoke to me.

I remember that clearly because a few years later I heard about a study that said that the person who speaks first is usually the dominant person in a relationship.  I don’t know if that is true in our relationship, but I remembered anyway.

I don’t recall the exact words, but she had noticed my book and asked me if I was an ISAT major.  I was and I told her so.  I can’t remember anything else we talked about, but I can tell you that I didn’t study much (I still aced the test).  We found out that we had a class together the following semester (ISAT 112 – Environmental Studies).  I found out she was in the Marching Band (The Marching Royal Dukes).  We talked about our home towns.  When i returned to my dorm room I was so excited.  I even asked my roommate what he knew about her (he was also in the band).  As it turned out he didn’t know anything.  They apparently ran in different circles with him being in with the party people and her being more of a band geek.

The following day i noticed her crossing campus in front of Godwin hall with her baritone case.  I can’t remember where I was going but I changed at that moment to join her on her way to the music building (she was turning in her instrument).  We talked again, this time primarily about the baritone (I had never even heard of the instrument). 

I also learned she was moving out of Eagle hall the following semester in to an all-girls dorm with a friend from band.  This upset me slightly because Eagle hall used to have routine fire alarms in the middle of the night.  Although it made sleeping difficult (to say the least) it also turned in to a bit of a social event; it didn’t hurt that everyone was outside in their sleeping garments.  I had hoped to speak with her during those events.

Obviously this minor obstacle didn’t really stand in our way.  But that will have to wait for another post.

Next Time: Lab Partners and Being Brought in to the Loop.

October 4, 2007 - Posted by | Matt & Angel, The Kids

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

