Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

I know I said I would try to be unbiased, but…

Previously I posted the list of issues that I thought were important.  I still have not gone through the list, but I have already eliminated one of the three presidential hopefuls.

Hillary Clinton thinks voters are idiots.  Therefore, I will not vote for her.

As you may have heard, the primaries came to North Carolina recently.  As a result, we have been surrounded by advertising for Hillary or Barack.  Barack is annoying.  He (or his representatives) called me six times on Tuesday asking if I had voted yet.  I think I have realized why he ends up so close at the end of elections.  People get so tired of hearing from him that they vote for the competitor.

But I couldn’t vote for Hillary because she thinks I’m an idiot.

I was in the doctor’s office and I heard a Hillary commercial that I couldn’t help but laugh at.  I don’t remember the exact wording, but it was something along the lines of making the gas companies pay the gas tax instead of the consumer.

Does anyone else see a problem with this?

I have several, and I will take them in order of inverse obviousness:

Lets say that we eliminate the gas tax.  In NC I pay 48.6 cents per gallon.  With gas prices approaching $4 per gallon, that is an expected savings of about 12%.  My 1998 Dodge Durango gets a whopping 14 miles to the gallon.  So I should benefit “a lot” from this plan.  I also drive “the normal” annual millage of about 12,000 miles per year.  So, in one year I use 857 gallons of gas.  At $4/gal, I would spend almost $3,500 in gas/year.  Without the gas tax ($3.514/gal), that price goes to $3,000 (incredibly, I rounded up on the first calculation, and down on the second…so the difference is actually somewhat less).  For a total savings of $500 for the year; or about $10 a week (rounding up again).  Is this really Hillary’s big plan to save me, the consumer, money?

Well, no.  She wants “the gas companies” to pay the taxes.  Now, my father was an accountant.  I never took anything he said for face value; he was always too concerned with cost and not concerned enough with happiness.  But when he talked money I never found fault with what he said.  One of the things he said is that companies are tax collectors, not tax payers.  Why?  Because every penny a company has, comes from the consumer (duh?).  So if “the gas companies” pay the taxes, then they will simply pass the cost on to the consumer.  Meaning that I wouldn’t even save that $10/week.

If she thinks that voters can’t figure out the flaw in this reasoning, then she thinks voters are stupid.  I will not vote for someone who thinks I am stupid.  Hillary is no longer in the running as far as I am concerned.

May 12, 2008 - Posted by | Thoughts on Politics

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

