Cogito Patris

Random Thoughts for Random People

Words of Wisdom

So, my neighbor and long-time babysitter is graduating from High School this week.  Luckily she will be going to a local university, so we will not have to get a completely new babysitter…though I doubt she is available as often as she is now.

I was trying to think of what to write on her graduation gift card.  I like to give advice…it is one of my not-so-guilty pleasures.  I am also a firm believer in letting people make their own choces.  So, I was thinking “Listen to advice, but follow your own path” might be good.

Then I realized what I was giving her.  It is a family tradition of sorts to give a wine bottle (or in my case a sparkling cyder bottle) filled with money to a graduate.  My maternal grandfather started the tradition when I graduated from college by stuffing $1400 in to a wine bottle.  It took forever to get all of the money out, but it was also strangling fulfilling.  So, I have decided to give my traditional gift with the words

“Accomplishments that are earned are more satisfying than those that are given.  Congratulations on earning your diploma.”

Congrats Anna!

June 10, 2008 - Posted by | Random Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

